2014 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards Honor Jermaine Dupri, Ne-Yo, and Mike WiLL

| June 27, 2014 | 0 Comments

27th Annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards - Backstage

Yesterday, The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) hosted its 27th annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, CA.  The event honored music hip hop artist, producer, and music mogul Jermaine Dupri, singer-songwriter and producer Ne-Yo, and hit music maker Mike WiLL. The event also honored songwriters and publishers of the most performed ASCAP songs on the 2013 R&B/hip hop, rap and gospel charts.

27th Annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards - Backstage

During the esteemed ceremony, Jermaine Dupri was presented with the prestigious ASCAP Founders Award.  Dupri was surprised as Usher and Bow Wow presented him with the honor.  The award is among the most prestigious honors that ASCAP gives, and is awarded to songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators.  Previous honorees include Sean “Diddy” Combs, Dr. Dre, Berry Gordy Jr. & Motown Industries, Quincy Jones, Smokey Robinson, and Stevie Wonder.

27th Annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards - Winners

Super songwriter Ne-Yo was awarded the ASCAP Golden Note Award.  This award is presented to songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones.  Past recipients include Sean “Diddy” Combs, Jermaine Dupri, Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, Jay Z, Quincy Jones, Alicia Keys, LL Cool J, Lionel Richie, Usher, Pharrell Williams and Stevie Wonder.

27th Annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Awards - Show

The Songwriter of the Year Award went to mega music maker Mike WiLL.  Mike WiLL has had the Midas touch and has amassed great success through the numerous top 10 hits he’s produced including “Bandz a Make Her Dance” for Juicy J, “We Can’t Stop” for Miley Cyrus, “Love Me” for Lil Wayne, “Mercy” for Kanye West, and “Pour It Up” for Rihanna.

Other notable winners include Robin Thicke, Pharrell Williams and T.I., who received the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Song award for their hit “Blurred Lines.” Also taking home an award was JAY Z, NO ID, Justin Timberlake, The-Dream, and Timbaland for the Top Rap Song of the Year, “Holy Grail.”

The evening featured performances by Lecrae, Anthony Brown, Jekalyn Carr, Jennifer Hudson, Mario, Mike WiLL protégés Rae Sremmurd, and house band The Komposers. The Jermaine Dupri segment was also highlighted by surprise performances by Usher and Bow Wow. Other evening highlights included a fun-filled DJ Battle with DJ Nabs and DJ SNS as well as an interactive photo booth with BEATS Music.

 Follow us on Twitter @hiphopenquirer

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Latest Hip Hop News, Media Gallery

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply