BET’s 106 And Park Announces Nominees For The 2012 Hip Hop Awards

| September 13, 2012 | 0 Comments

This year’s BET Hip Hop Awards takes place September 29th from the Boisfeuillet Jones Atlanta Civic Center in Atlanta, Georgia and will premiere on the network Tuesday, October 9 at 8:00PM. Actor/comedian Mike Epps @TheRealMikeEpps returns for a third year as the host for the hip hop festivities.

“This year as there’s a vibrant, young energy in music that our BET Hip Hop Awards show is poised to capture both in dynamic cyphers and thrilling on-stage performances.  The excitement will be coming to you at the speed of light!” stated Stephen G. Hill, President of Specials and Programming, BET Networks.  “On another note, you can expect an all-star tribute to our friend Chris Lighty from those artists who loved him and worked with him…when it came to Chris, it was ‘love’ and ‘work’ in that order. This show, from front to back, is going to be special.”

Celebrating the biggest hip-hop names in the game, newcomers, and shining a light on the community, the BET Hip Hop Awards is ready to honor the very best of hip hop culture.  This year, sources confirm that Mr. Kanye West is leading the pack with 17 Nominations for Best Hip Hop Video; Reese’s Perfect Combo Award; Best Live Performer; Lyricist of the Year; Video Director of the Year; Producer of the Year; MVP of the Year; Track of the Year; Made-You-Look Award; Hustler of the Year; Impact Track; and 2 nominations for People’s Champ Award Powered by Verizon for “Otis” and “Mercy” and 2 nominations Best Club Banger for “Ni**as in Paris” and “Mercy.” PR Newswire

Following is the Full List of BET HIP HOP AWARDS ’12 Nominees and Categories:

Best Hip Hop Video
2 Chainz f/ Drake – No Lie
A$AP Rocky – Goldie
Drake f/ Lil Wayne – HYFR
Wale f/ Miguel – Lotus Flower Bomb
Kanye West f/ Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz – Mercy

Reese’s Perfect Combo Award (Best Collabo)
2 Chainz f/ Drake – No Lie
Drake f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga – The Motto (Remix)
J. Cole f/ Missy Elliott – Nobody’s Perfect
Wale f/ Miguel – Lotus Flower Bomb
Kanye West f/ Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz – Mercy

Best Live Performer
A$AP Rocky
J. Cole
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West)
Kanye West

Lyricist of the Year
J. Cole
Kendrick Lamar
Kanye West

Video Director of the Year
A$AP Rocky & Sam Lecca
Benny Boom
Chris Robinson
Hype Williams
Kanye West

Producer of the Year
J. Cole
J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League
No I.D.
Kanye West

MVP of the Year
2 Chainz
J. Cole
Rick Ross
Kanye West

Track of the Year
Cashin’ Out – Produced by DJ Spinz (Ca$h Out)
Ima Boss – Produced by Jahlil Beats (Meek Mill f/ Rick Ross)
Ni**as in Paris – Produced by Kanye West, Hit-Boy and Mike Dean (The Throne – Jay-Z & Kanye West)
No Lie – Produced by Mike Will Made-It and Co-Produced by Marz (2 Chainz f/ Drake)
The Motto (Remix) – Produced by T-Minus (Drake f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga)

CD of the Year
Common – The Dreamer, The Believer
Drake – Take Care
J. Cole – Cole World: The Sideline Story
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) – Watch The Throne
Young Jeezy – TM: 103 Hustlerz Ambition

DJ of the Year
DJ Drama
DJ Enuff
DJ Envy
DJ Funkmaster Flex
DJ Khaled

Rookie of the Year
2 Chainz
A$AP Rocky
Ca$h Out
Meek Mill

Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip Hop Style)
2 Chainz
A$AP Rocky
Big Sean
Nicki Minaj
Kanye West

Best Club Banger
Ca$h Out – Cashin’ Out (Produced by DJ Spinz)
Drake f/ Lil Wayne & Tyga – The Motto (Remix) (Produced by T-Minus)
Future – Same Damn Time (Produced by Sonny Digital)
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) – Ni**as in Paris (Produced by Kanye West, Hit-Boy & Mike Dean)
Kanye West f/ Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz  – Mercy (Produced by Lifted with additional production by Kanye West)

Best Mixtape
A$AP Rocky – LiveLoveA$AP
Joey BadA$$ – 1999
Meek Mill – Dreamchasers 2
Rick Ross – Rich Forever
Wiz Khalifa – Taylor Allderdice

Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse
2 Chainz – Mercy (Kanye West f/ Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz)
Diddy – Same Damn Time Remix (Future f/ Diddy & Ludacris)
Drake – Stay Schemin’ (Rick Ross f/ Drake & French Montana)
Ludacris – Same Damn Time Remix (Future f/ Diddy & Ludacris)
T.I. – Magic Remix (Future f/ T.I.)

Hustler of the Year
2 Chainz
Lil Wayne
Rick Ross
Kanye West

Impact Track
Around My Way (Freedom Ain’t Free) – Lupe Fiasco
Bitch Bad – Lupe Fiasco
Daughters – Nas
Murder to Excellence – The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West)

People’s Champ Award Presented by Verizon
2 Chainz f/ Drake – No Lie
Driicky Graham – Snapbacks & Tattoos
Meek Mill f/ Rick Ross – Ima Boss
The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West) f/ Otis Redding – Otis
Kanye West f/ Big Sean, Pusha T & 2 Chainz – Mercy

Best Hip Hop Online Site


VIDEO CLIP: BET’s Hip Hop Awards 2012 Trailer Premieres October 9th

Follow Hip Hop Enquirer Magazine on Twitter | @HipHopEnqMag

Facebook Comments



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Latest Hip Hop News, Media Gallery, Music

About the Author ()

Hip Hop Historian and accomplished photo journalist

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: