Music Alert! G.O.O.D. Music’s Debut Album “Cruel Summer” Set To Release Tuesday

| September 16, 2012 | 0 Comments

Recently VIBE sat down with industry tastemakers to capture the opinions and views of G.O.O.D. Music’s debut album, Cruel Summer,  which is set to release widely Tuesday, September 18th. Kanye West’s highly anticipated G.O.O.D. Music label showcase is long overdue. Fans were exposed to a sneak-peek when iTunes premiered 90 second snippets of the album’s twelve songs this month.

“The build up to Cruel Summer has been, for the most part, a solid one. G.O.O.D. managed to do an exceptional job of letting their music do the talking and never flooding the market with an excess of tracks, thus always guaranteeing the demand remained higher than the supply. Having said that, the releases they did drop were hot (even though “New God Flow” never caught on as many initially expected). However, every leak paled in comparison into what was arguably the song of the summer, “Mercy.”” – @KarenCivil from

“”Mercy” is not only the biggest song that G.O.O.D. has leaked to date; it’s the biggest hip-hop song of the year. LA, NYC, no matter where I go, this song gets played on the heaviest rotation. You may still not know what Fuzzy Jones is saying but MY GOD, this is one of the most sonically fresh songs I’ve heard in ages. Swerve.” – @SowmyaK (Sowmya Krishnamurthy) — (VIBE, RollingStone, MTV)

Cruel Summer Tracklist

01. Kanye West and R. Kelly: “To the World”
02. Kanye West, Jay-Z, and Big Sean: “Clique”
03. Kanye West, Big Sean, Pusha-T, and 2 Chainz: “Mercy”
04. Kanye West, Pusha-T, and Ghostface Killah: “New God Flow”
05. Raekwon, Pusha-T, Common, 2 Chainz, Cyhi the Prynce, Kid Cudi, and D’Banj: “The Morning”
06. DJ Khaled: “Cold”
07. The-Dream, Pusha-T, and Ma$e: “Higher”
08. John Legend, Travi$ Scott, Teyana Taylor, Cyhi the Prynce, and Malik Yusef: “Sin City”
09. Kanye West, Big Sean, 2 Chainz, and Marsha Ambrosius: “The One”
10. Kid Cudi: “Creepers”
11. John Legend and Teyana Taylor: “Bliss”
12. Kanye West, Chief Keef, Pusha-T, Big Sean, and Jadakiss: “Don’t Like”

VIDEO CLIP: Cruel Summer‘s Lead Single Mercy: Official Video by Kanye West featuring Big Sean, Pusha T & 2 Chainz.

Follow Hip Hop Enquirer on Twitter | @HipHopEnquirer

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Latest Hip Hop News, Music, New Music Alert

About the Author ()

Hip Hop Historian and accomplished photo journalist

Leave a Reply