Jay Z, Beyonce, Alicia Keys Among Top Nominees At BET Awards

| May 19, 2010 | 0 Comments

Celebrity Sightings In New York City - November 3, 2012

Leading the way with BET nominations this year is, unsurprisingly, Jay Z. The rap star exceeds all other artists with five nominations: Best Male Hip Hop artist, Best Collaboration (with Alicia Keys for “New York State of Mind“), Best Video (both for “Empire State of Mind” and “Run this Town”), and Viewer’s Choice for “Empire State of Mind.” On the other hand, many fans of the songstress Monica has been airing their disappointment that she was not nominated for the top spot. There are many who believe the singer and BET reality star should have been an easy shoe in to compete with the likes of the other nominees rather than be nominated for the Viewer’s Choice Award.

One person who we always felt was deserving of an award for her constant grind and relentless determination  is Atlanta’s own Rasheeda as she is in the Best Female Hip Hop category.

Artists with four nominations include Beyonce, Alicia Keys, Trey Songz and Melanie Fiona.

The BET Awards, now in its tenth year, will feature performances from Trey Songz, Nicki Minaj, Drake and Diddy-Dirty Money.

Queen Latifah will host the 2010 BET Awards, which air Sunday, June 27 live at 8:00 PM.

Below are the nominees in each category:

Best Female R&B Artist
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona
Alicia Keys

Best Male R&B Artist
Chris Brown
Raheem DeVaughn
Trey Songz

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist
Ester Dean
Lil’ Kim
Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist

Best New Artist
Justin Bieber
Melanie Fiona
Nicki Minaj
Young Money

Best Gospel
The Anointed Pace Sisters
Kirk Franklin Presents Artists United For Haiti
Tamela Mann
Marvin Sapp
Vickie Winans

Best Group
Black Eyed Peas
Diddy-Dirty Money
New Boyz
Young Money

Best Collaboration
Beyoncé f/ Lady Gaga – “Video Phone”
B.o.B f/ Bruno Mars – “Nothin’ on You”
Drake & Trey Songz – “Successful”
Drake f/ Lil Wayne, Kanye West & Eminem – “Forever”
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind”
Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – “Say Aah”

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom
Gil Green
Anthony Mandler
Chris Robinson
Hype Williams

Video of the Year
Beyoncé f/ Lady Gaga – “Video Phone”
B.o.B f/ Bruno Mars – “Nothin’ on You”
Melanie Fiona – “It Kills Me”
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind”
Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – “Run This Town”

Viewer’s Choice
Beyoncé – “Sweet Dreams”
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind”
Monica – “Everything to Me”
Rihanna f/ Young Jeezy – “Hard”
Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – “Say Aah”
Young Money (Lil Wayne, Gudda Gudda, Nicki Minaj, Jae Millz, Drake, Tyga) f/ Lloyd – “Bedrock”

Best International Act
Kojo Antwi (Ghana)
Chipmunk (UK)
Dizzee Rascal (UK)
Estelle (UK)
Hip Hop Pantsula (HHP) (South Africa)
K’NAAN (Somalia)
M.I. (Nigeria)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Corinne Bailey Rae (UK)
Sade (UK)

Centric Award
Melanie Fiona
Chrisette Michele

Follow us on twitter@hiphopenquirer

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Latest Hip Hop News, Special

About the Author ()

Hip Hop Historian and accomplished photo journalist

Leave a Reply